Chandrashekhar Biradar

Chandrashekhar Biradar Principal Scientist, Head-Geoinformatics Unit, ICARDA, Amman, Jordan

Dr. Chandrashekhar Biradar is a principal agro-ecosystems scientist and head of the Geoinformatics Unit at ICARDA. He is distinguished scientist in the field of geospatial science, technology and application. He has multidisciplinary science and farming background with BSc in agricultural sciences, Masters in genetic engineering and PhD in remote sensing and environmental sciences. Then he severed as at post-doctoral fellow at IWMI, and research scientist at the Institute for the Study of Earth, Ocean and Space (EOS) at the University of New Hampshire, USA, and research professor at the University of Oklahoma, USA while working on number of federally funded projects. He has produced the first satellite sensor based innovative methods for mapping global croplands, water productivity, impact assessments, and dynamics of agri-food systems under changing climate and demography. He has authored/co-authored over 180 publications which include 51 peer reviewed journal publications, 18 books/chapters, over 100 other publications.
Dr. Chandrashekhar has been recognized with number of international awards and honors such as the Young Scientist of the Year, Outstanding Young Scientist, Best Team Initiative, Outstanding Team Member, Board Member, Steering Committee Member, and Panel Member of Geoinformatics for Agriculture, Working Group on high resolution remote sensing, advisory member of WMO/GWP’s Integrated Drought management Program, recently received Outstanding Young Scientist Award from the Association of Agricultural Scientists of Indian Origin affiliated with the American Society of Agronomy. His current research focus is on developing spatial big-data embedded digital agriculture analytics for delivering better interventions towards increased input use efficiency (reduce loss and produce more) at landscapes to farmscapes for sustainable agro-ecosystems.

Geostatistics & Remote Sensing

  • 23 November 2016
  • Ralph W Cummings Auditorium
  • 9:00 am - 11:00 am